Monday, June 17, 2024
HomePoliticsDarjeeling District CPI Protests Removal of Ten Statues from Surya Sen Park...

Darjeeling District CPI Protests Removal of Ten Statues from Surya Sen Park in Siliguri

Darjeeling CPI Protests Statue Removal, Deputy Mayor Promises Honorable Reinstallation in Other City Areas.

- Advertisement -

Siliguri, Dec 24 (Siliguri Journal) – On Sunday, the Darjeeling District Committee CPI members gathered at Mahatma Gandhi’s statue to protest the removal of 10 statues from Surya Sen Park in Siliguri.

In 2020, statues of 10 leaders, including Bankim Chandra Chatterjee, Thakur Panchanan Barma, Rabindranath Tagore, Swami Vivekananda, and Rishi Aurobindo Ghosh, were reportedly installed in Surya Sen Park, Siliguri. The inauguration was carried out by the former Mayor of Siliguri Municipal Corporation (SMC), Ashok Bhattacharya. However, there are claims that the current SMC Board has allegedly removed these statues, leading to a protest by CPI members.

- Advertisement -

Addressing the matter, Darjeeling District Committee CPI leader Partha Maitra strongly condemned the action, demanding the reinstatement of the removed statues. Additionally, he urged the installation of Bagha Jatin’s statue at Baghajatin Park in Siliguri.

Deputy Mayor Ranjan Sarkar mentioned that the statues were removed due to negligence, and he assured that they would be reinstated with honor in different areas of the city.

- Advertisement -
Sk Sahiluddin
Sk Sahiluddin
Sk Sahiluddin is a seasoned journalist and media professional with a passion for delivering accurate and impactful news coverage to a global audience. As the Editor of Siliguri Journal, he plays a pivotal role in shaping the editorial direction and ensuring the highest journalistic standards are upheld.
- Advertisment -

Popular Posts